Nayagarh Judgeship

The Nayagarh Judgeship has got its territorial jurisdiction co-extensive with the local limits of jurisdiction of Nayagarh Revenue District. The Revenue District of Nayagarh took birth in the year 1993 as one of the new Districts of Odisha State when the erstwhile Puri District was trifurcated into three separate districts.

The district of Nayagarh has got a rich heritage of culture, marvellous bio-diversity and unique social structure. The Judgeship of Nayagarh has its headquarters at Nayagarh Town. It situates at a distance of 90 kilometres from the State Capital at Bhubaneswar and 120 kilometres from Cuttack, where the Hon’ble High Court of Orissa situates. The district of Nayagarh is a land-locked territory sharing its boundaries with the contiguous districts such as Cuttack on North, Kandhamal on West, Ganjam on South and Khordha on East. The National Highway No.224 is the main arterial road link of the district with the State Capital. It has got well connected road links with the other parts of the State.

The District Court at headquarter station Nayagarh is functioning in two separate court complexes such as Old Civil Court Complex situated besides the main traffic square of the town and D.J. Court Complex situated by the side of Nayagarh-Khandapara PWD highway. To cater the needs of the residents of the district and with an aim to provide justice at door step courts of Judicial Magistrate First Class –cum-Civil Judge have been established at taluk levels at Khandapara, Daspalla and Ranpur. There is also a Gram Nyayalaya established at Odagaon under this Judgeship.